top of page

Nostel loop walk

Updated: Apr 25, 2023


The White Shire Walk

Nostel loop walk.

Nostell Priory was originally a medieval religious house founded in the 12th century by the Order of St. Augustine. However, during the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the 16th century, it was dissolved and its lands were seized by the Crown.

In the early 18th century, the estate was purchased by the Winn family, who commissioned architect James Paine to design a new Palladian-style country house on the site of the former priory. The construction of the new house began in 1733 and took over 20 years to complete.

The house and estate passed down through the Winn family for several generations, with various additions and renovations made over time. In the 20th century, the estate was inherited by Rowland Winn, 3rd Baron St Oswald, who made significant contributions to the house's collection of art and furnishings.

In 1953, the estate was given to the National Trust, and it is now open to the public. Today, visitors can tour the house and gardens, view the extensive collection of art and antiques, and explore the parkland, which includes lakes, woodlands, and gardens.









102 views0 comments

Comments